ASHALL TOWN PLANNING,
STRATFORD HOUSE,
5 CORTLAND AVENUE, ECCLESTON, CHORLEY, PR7 5FP
Tel: 07940 372868
Info@charteredtownplanner.co.uk
Planning Consultants Now In Our 20th Year Planning Consultant with 25 Years Experience 
Chartered Town Planning Consultants RTPI Chartered Town Planners RTPI

Architectural Drawings  |  Conservation Area and Listed Building Consent Advice  |  Design and Access Statements

Land Development Appraisals  |  Planning Appeals  |  Planning Applications

ASHALL TOWN PLANNING

CHARTERED TOWN PLANNING CONSULTANT

Raymond Ashall BA Hons Dip EP MRTPI

Chartered Town Planner

Member of the Royal Town Planning Institute

Andrew Louis Surveyors

Royal Town Planning Institute Membership No: 31305 - Full Chartered Member of the RTPI since 1989

24

24

1993

1993

2017

2017

LATEST NEWS .....


Don’t  just take our word on the quality of service we provide. Read the full reviews provided by our clients via the links below.

“I have worked with Ray Ashall for over 20 years and have found his ability to be exceptional”  


Derek Mapp, (Sheffield)  October 2012 Read more

(Derek Mapp is a former Chairman of the East Midlands Development Agency).



“Your success not only assisted our business but also saved jobs for personnel who would have been made redundant”   


Bob Sullivan, COSAF Environments Limited, (Lancashire)   September 2012 Read more



“The knowledge and professionalism of Ashall Town Planning was key to both maintaining confidence and ultimately winning our planning appeal”  


John Brennan, Together.UK. (London)  October 2012 Read more



“It was a relief to be able to hand over all aspects to a trusted professional and I was very pleased with the successful result”  




“I am happy with the work you did as we got exactly the outcome we wished for”  


James Phillips, Specialist Recruitment Services Ltd,  (Stafffordshire) October 2012 Read more



“I was delighted with the outcome and very impressed with the service I received from Ashall Town Planning. I will definitely recommend them to anyone wanting advice and help with both planning applications and planning appeals and would use Ashall Town Planning myself  in the future”  


M. South (Staffordshire) October 2012 Read more



“It is my pleasure to give Ashall Town Planning a recommendation for their work. Raymond provided solid advice and revised a previously rejected Planning Application. The revised planning application resulted in a successful conclusion with planning permission being granted”  


Chris Brown, Structured Designs Limited, (Wrexham) November 2012 Read more



“Thank you for all you’ve done, without your expertise I would of not got the planning permission, once again thank you”  


Kayum Ali (Dudley Council) November 2012    See the Planning Approval



“Hi Ray, that's wonderful news, well done, very pleased with your service, very well done Ray, thanks again for representing me”  


David Stewart  (Shropshire) December 2012   See the Planning Approval  



“In terms of your services, I can confirm that we are happy with the support you have provided.  In that respect I have already recommended you to at least one colleague who has been having some planning issues recently, and I will be happy to pass your details on to any other friends and colleagues as the need arises.  Overall, I found it very easy to talk through the issues with you and that your knowledge of the planning laws enabled you to put forward a convincing and persuasive argument in our favour.  So, many thanks for your help and support”  


Neil Warburton (Cheshire West & Chester) January 2013



“I am please to say that using the services of Mr Raymond Ashall at Ashall Town Planning , resulted in the Planning Inspectorate allowing our appeal, enabling us to start necessary works as part of our new refurbishment project”.


Tina Mayo, Facilities Manager, KnowledgePoint360, (Cheshire East)  February 2013  Read More



“I was very pleased with your service, for the Certificate of Lawfulness, which I found quick, efficient, and very professional.  Many thanks for your help and assistance with this project.”


Richard Wilkins  (London)  March 2013  See the Planning Approval



“After being disappointed to be refused planning by our local authority we were contacted by Ashall Town Planning . They offered to represent us in appealing the decision.


From the first contact from them we were impressed by their knowledge and professionalism .

Every time we have contacted them we have been able to discuss at length our ideas and never once felt we were being rushed and they always contacted us back when they said they would.


They have submitted representation for us and at this time we are awaiting a decision.

We feel certain we could not have received better service anywhere else and would have no hesitation in using them again in the future, regardless of the outcome of this appeal.”


Mr & Mrs G. Sneddon  (Leeds)  March 2013  (News Update - Planning Permission Granted July 2013)  



“Dear Mr Ashall, Firstly, may I apologise for my presumptuous actions in assuming that the application was invalid due to the application incorporating part of a shared access drive. With the benefit of hindsight I should have questioned this with you as opposed to the action that I took. I hope you will appreciate the ambiguity that applicants often encounter in regard to ownership, but given both your calibre and experience, I admit that on this occasion I made the wrong call.”


Local Authority Planning Officer (name withheld to prevent any embarrassment!)   March 2013



“……  This resulted in planning being granted at first submission.


We are naturally very pleased with the result and would certainly recommend Ashall Town Planning to anyone who has need of guidance and advice in planning matters.”


Mr & Mrs T  Reeves  (Newcastle under Lyme)   March 2013     Read More



“I would thoroughly recommend Ashall Town Planning to friends and colleagues.”


Mr P. McMahon,  Brookhill Home and Garden    (Erewash)  April 2013   Read More



“I was refused an extension for an already approved planning application and the Council was showing no sympathy in the current  economic climate. I found out about Ashall Town Planning, they were approachable, efficient and professional. The appeal process went very smoothly; all I had to do was sign the papers, send a cheque and wait! The news was good, my appeal was upheld and the change of use permission was granted for my shop.


Thank you Raymond for your efforts and I wish you a further 20 years in business!”


Mr K Mirjani, Car Hi-Fi Centre,  (London) May 2013



“I would like to thank you for your professional and dedicated efforts in getting the planning application approved. I would definitely recommend your services to my circle of friends

Thanks once again...”

Regards


Rana Khan,  (Manchester)  June 2013   See the Planning Approval



“I'd like to thank you for helping me with my successful appeal against the planning refusal for my house extension.  The inspectorate agreed with every one of our points.


After handling the appeal myself for my first planning application last year, I'm glad I made the decision to involve you with my second appeal.  It wasn't a simple appeal, indeed a local town planner in Pontefract offered to handle my appeal but after the initial assessment, realising that I had experience of the appeal process and that it was my second appeal for work at the same site, he decided it was not easy enough for him to take on.


Thank you Ray for having confidence in the merits of my case.”


Regards


Paul Bell, (Leeds) July 2013  See the Planning Approval



“I wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for your appeal statement that you have submitted on behalf of myself.  It was very professional and showed your great knowledge of  planning law.  

I was pleasantly surprised with how you made our scheme fit in with the local area and answered the councils concerns point for point, whilst benefiting our proposals.  I hope for a positive outcome and thank you for all your efforts as always.”


Kindest regards


Darsi Kalyan,  (London)  September 2013



“We engaged the services of Ray Ashall at Ashall Town Planning after our planning application in Barnes / Richmond Council was rejected.  The Council had implemented new guidelines in 2009 which impacted our plans for a first floor extension. The guidelines recommended setting back the first floor extension even though the many properties in our street had a first floor extension without any such setback.  As these were all done before the 2009 change in the guidelines they apparently could not be used as precedence.


Ray was able to quickly submit an appeal on my behalf and it was approved by the planning inspector on the first pass. This was approved even though several local experts including builders and local property developers told me that it's very difficult to get such an appeal approved once the guidelines change.


I am extremely satisfied with the services of Ashall Town Planning and would highly recommend their services to anyone submitting a planning application or planning appeal.”

Sincerely,


Mike Kalmar  (Barnes, London, SW13)  September 2013



“You are good Ray. Your words are always clear and always seeking collaboration rather than division between the parties. I applaud you.


All the very best to you.”


K.C.   (Hebden Bridge)   September 2013



“I would just like to thank you for your assistance on the completion of a successful planning application on my behalf.

The way you kept me informed and explained the various steps of the planning application gave me full confidence in your ability with the whole process, and put me at ease.

I am extremely satisfied with the service that you provided me, and I will not hesitate to recommend your services to anyone I know requiring any planning assistance,


Once again,

Many thanks.”


W. Bennison,  (Chadderton, Oldham)  September 2013



“Both my mum and I would like to say a huge thank you to Ray Ashall for assisting us with our planning application for a children's day nursery. We had major difficulties with both the local planning authority and the highway agency regarding parking issues, however Ray used his expertise to negotiate a revised plan and we were recently granted full planning permission. We are certain that without Ray's professional help our application would have been refused.

We would thoroughly recommend Ashall Town Planning to anyone and Ray would be the first person we will turn to, should we have any future planning applications.”


C. Thomas, (West Lancashire) October 2013



“Many thanks for your assistance in achieving the positive appeal decision!”


Naveed Akhtar, (Wandsworth, London) October 2013   See the Planning Approval



“Very professional service and all costs were up front which made everything easy. Also was kept up to date with progress of the Appeal which was a bonus. Will use them again if needed in the future and recommend them.”


Omar Hanif, (Crumpsall, Manchester) November 2013



“Currently my planning appeal is on going and my wife and I are hoping for a successful outcome, however irrespective of the outcome we would like to say that the service Ray has provided is exceptional.


Due to the contentious nature of our appeal in our local area we had trouble finding a local planning consultant who would take on our case, when I found Ray Ashall on the web I was naturally a bit concerned as to Ray's credentials and if he was the right man for the job.


I can tell you that his service has been superb, he has been able to cast doubt on the policy adopted by my local council which has given us the best possible chance of success.


Ray is hoping for a successful outcome for Christmas 2013 as are we and I will be ringing his doorbell with my elbow on the day of our win!!! Here's hoping.”


J A Birch, (Lancashire), November 2013



“Nice work and thank you very much. Did you ever have any doubt? Sorry for the delay in getting back to you, I'm still in shock at the result.


Ray and all his team at Ashall Town Planning dealt with my planning appeal in a calm and collective manner, at a time which was quite stressful, due to me feeling like a fish out of water trying to deal with the whole appeal process.


A few phone calls and emails to Ray and my mind was put at ease, he set the wheels in motion and I got the result I wanted.


A first class service that I would recommend to anyone without hesitation.


Many thanks again.”


Stephen Shingler (Cheshire) November 2013



“Raymond Ashall really has been a great help in all of the planning applications that he has dealt with on our behalf. It has been a pleasure working with someone who is as knowledgeable, experienced and assured of their abilities as he is.


We have encountered a number of challenges along the way and Ray has systematically and logically fought our case on each occasion to achieve our goals.


I would highly recommend anyone who is having difficulties obtaining planning permission to consult with Ray first as I don’t believe there is anyone else more capable than him with all aspects of planning law. Thanks for all your help.”


N Morjaria  (Coventry) December 2013



“Ray, we're both really impressed with your appeal, really impressed.


Thanks very much.”


Alex Vasiliadis (London) December 2013



“I recruited the help of Ashall Town Planning to help me secure planning permission for a taxi booking office.


This has been a difficult and complex case and is still on going, and I have been completely satisfied with the effort and professional manner in which Ashall Town Planning have been dealing with my case and they have come up with answers for every issue the council planning department have thrown at us.


I would advise anyone who is in need of any type of planning permission to contact Ray Ashall.”


John Hughes (Leeds) January 2014



“Ray helped me understand the planning issues with our current site and gave sound advice on how to prioritise the various aspects using a refreshingly commercial approach. A true professional.”


Riz (Midlands) February 2014



“Thank you very much for your great work getting our planning enforcement quashed in the time scale given!


Would definitely recommend to anyone who is experiencing planning / building problems. Also a very good price. (cheapest we could find).


Thank you very much”.


Reehan Yousef, (Leeds), February 2014



“We engaged Ray Ashall in November 2013 to help us object to what seemed to us to be an inappropriate development on land next to our rural property in North Staffordshire.


Time was short but Ray came to see the situation and rapidly assessed what the applicant's ambitions really were. His analysis and report were key to the proposal being rejected.


Ray maintained contact with the planning authority right through the process and was able to further intervene even with last minute changes made by the applicant which he rightly described as purely cosmetic.


We really appreciated a fully professional service and whole heartedly recommend Ray to anyone needing expert help on planning issues”.


John and Suzanne Steele, (Staffordshire), March 2014



"The knowledge and professionalism of Ashall Town Planning was the key to both maintaining confidence and ultimately winning our first planning Appeal. Accordingly, we had no hesitation to entrust our second Planning Appeal* to a trusted professional and are confident to have a positive outcome the same as our first appeal.


I will not hesitate to recommend Ashall Town Planning to my friends if needs arises".


A Moradi, (Redbridge), March 2014   (*Planning update May 2014 - Second Planning Appeal also won).



“I'm very pleased with the outcome of my planning application and appreciate the councils favourable decision due to the assistance of Ashall Town Planning who have been very helpful and have saved me money and would happily recommend them.


Thank you Ashall Town Planning and Ray”,


from Adam Saeed, March 2014



“I had lost valuable time and money because of the Local Authority hassling me. Ashall Town Planning has provided me with much great help in dealing with the Local Authority. Through Mr. Ashall’s professional services and specialist knowledge I have gained great satisfaction by winning my case.


My case was quite frustrating because the two properties I had purchased were classed as Section 106 Social Housing. Therefore, after the purchase I was told by the Council that I could not do anything other than put the houses up for social housing, which I had not agreed to.


In fact there was no Section 106. The Council were also very aggressive and told me to pay £36,000 if I wanted to come out of Section 106. However, thanks to Mr. Ashall’s professionalism and perseverance he was able to contest the council’s argument and successfully helped me gain the right to do whatever I pleased with my two properties and proving that there was no Section 106 applicable to me.


If anyone is going through any planning issues, I strongly recommend using Mr. Ashall’s services.


I can provide assurance that you will not be displeased and gain great results”.


Mohamed Farook, (London), March 2014.



“Mr Ashall provided an expert report in a case when our client was being prosecuted for making unauthorised alterations to a Grade II Listed Building.


We considered that there was strong mitigation, and Mr Ashall’s report, which was presented to the Court, proved fundamental in achieving an excellent result for our client.


We found Mr Ashall personable and easy to work with. He worked to tight deadlines, made himself readily available, and responded promptly at all times.


We would certainly consider using Mr Ashall again, should a similar case arise.”


Joe Cowles, Higgs & Sons Solicitors, ‘Corporate Law Firm of the Year 2013’, (Brierley Hill, West Midlands), April 2014



“I'd recommend Ashall Town Planning to anybody objecting to a planning application.


We contacted Ray because a property developer bought a house with half an acre of garden in our road. He received pre-application confirmation from the planning department that, in principle, they had no objections to him knocking down the existing house and building three new houses with access roads etc.


This would have destroyed the ambience of the road and lead to other properties suffering the same fate.


Ray looked at the planning application from a professional planners view and wrote a letter of objection for us.


The result was the application was rejected outright as it couldn't be amended to satisfy the valid objections raised.”


S Boyfield, (Cheshire), April 2014



"Ray's timely response and sound professional advice enabled us to gain planning permission quickly, thus avoiding a resubmission and potential appeal. As a Chartered Architect, I would not hesitate to use Ray's services again for his experience in dealing with contentious Planning issues and his thorough knowledge of the system. Thank you Ray!"


Paul Rainford-Miller (BA Dipl Arch RIBA), Chartered Architect (Cheshire)



“Dear Ray,


Just to let you know I have received a copy of the appeal sent to the Planning Inspectorate.


If that doesn't win it, I don't know what will.


Kind regards”


J Leonard



“We received an excellent service from Ashall Town Planning which resulted in a timely and successful outcome for our first restaurant. I highly recommend Ray and his team to anyone requiring listed building consent and change of use planning approval. We will be using Ashall Town Planning again in the near future”  


John Roberts



“I would like to say a big thank you to Ray and Ashall Town Planning for submitting an excellent appeal to the Planning Inspectorate, for a dropped kerb, which won”.


Jayne Leonard (Worcestershire)



“We are endlessly grateful for everything that Raymond has already done on our behalf for all these years since 2008, when he first helped us to get a successful planning permission”.


K. Northen (Liverpool)



“Ray was very quick to respond and take action. He knew how to speak the planning department's language and he was able to chase the Council in the right way and at the right time to get progress.

I would recommend him."


C.O.  (Islington, London)



“We applied for a roof terrace for our flat in London, but the Council did not give us the permission, so we contacted Raymond Ashall to make an appeal. He did very well and we are pleased that we received recently a positive appeal decision from the Planning Inspectorate.

We can highly recommend using the services of Raymond Ashall”.


Annette Swartberg



“Thank you for a great job with the plan and getting the planning permission”.


Wendy Clubley



“We were thoroughly impressed with Rays approach and subsequent appeal submission which successfully increased our capacity from 38 to 44 places at our children’s day nursery business in Warrington.


Following a refusal by local planning authority Ray advised to go straight to appeal rather than try to work through some of the issues with local planning. The appeal constructed by Ray was clear, concise and argued every point in terminology which the Planning Inspectorate supported.


I would thoroughly recommend Ray if you have a planning issue, he will give you clear advice and then deliver quality planning proposals which give the best chance for success.”


Gary Kirkwood, Heathfield House Day Nursery, Warrington



“I instructed Mr Ashall to assist with a  retrospective planning application. My case was a  complicated matter due to differences of opinion between local councillors and the planning department. I am a professional lady and was quite taken aback as to how complicated the whole matter was to navigate. Mr Ashall was calm and clear throughout,  what was for me a distressing episode.


Mr Ashall's knowledge of planning protocols, legal and regulatory requirements was invaluable . He pro actively contacted various interested parties on my behalf and managed the whole matter to a successful conclusion.


I am so impressed with Mr Ashall that I have already recommended him to assist others”.


Nicola Flanders, Wiltshire



“Ray provided a statement of support and advised us through the planning process. This contributed to the outcome of planning approval being given on first submission. The value of having a planning consultant on board should not be underestimated”.


Mic Sanghera, Coventry



“Thanks for all your professional effort into this project - well pleased with you have done”.


Paul Fletcher, Manchester, February 2015



“Thank you so much for your approach and your time and effort.

Unlike other agents, you have not just taken fees and stood back, you have guided me to a fantastic result.

I have recommended you to all my developer friends.

Thank You”.


Ashraf and family, Lancashire, February 2015



“It’s great news and, as I said before, great testimony to your tenacity.  

I am delighted to provide a testimonial for your web site.


Ray offered a novel fee agreement, which gave him an incentive to obtain planning permission if he could avoid the need for an appeal, knowing that similar applications in the Green Belt had gone to appeal in the past.  


Despite the local authority putting forward every possible objection they could think of, he counteracted them with reasoned and evidenced arguments.  


His tenacity resulted in planning being granted without an appeal, saving valuable time and benefiting both him and us, his clients.”


Cheshire Client



"To say that Raymond Ashall is a fist class planning consultant would not be fair to Ray, he is exceptional!


I have worked with quite a number of planning consultants and none have been so effective as Ray. I approached Ray because some friends were using his expertise for an application that I did not think would have a hope and whilst In my opinion my request was less difficult the planners clearly did not want to grant my permission since I had had no feedback after five months having paid for pre application advice.


Needless to say we both gained planning permission. Thank you Ray. I will come back”.


W Thomas-Davies, Cheshire



“My husband and I were recently faced with a situation where our next door neighbours were seeking planning permission for a significant development which would not only have had a major effect on our lives but also would have changed the character of the neighbourhood.  


We appointed Ray Ashall to advise us.


Ray's response was swift.  He visited the site within a couple of days and a day or two later submitted an extremely well argued and well presented letter of objection to the Planning Authority.


Shortly afterwards, the planning application was withdrawn.


We would have no hesitation in recommending Ray to anyone dealing with a planning issue”.


K Cumiskey



“I asked Ray to look at our planning problem and from the first phone call I felt I wouldn’t have to worry.


When I read through the appeal I actually felt sorry for the planning officer!


We got what we wanted and we got it without any drama or fuss and that makes the (very competitive) fee worth every penny!”


Mr Hall, Lancashire.



"I would recommend Mr Ashall's services to anybody looking for a Town Planner.


His experience showed through and was much needed in very difficult negotiations with my local council.


After the involvement of Ashall Town Planning, the council started to be more reasonable and are now seeing that i was trying to do the right thing from the start.


He was also a pleasure to deal with and was always very professional”.


Mrs Kathleen Jacoby, Stratford Upon Avon



“After having our planning application refused for a single storey rear extension at our home in West London we contacted a number of firms to discuss both the validity of our appeal and the prospect of them taking on the appeal on our behalf.


Ray was one of those I spoke to, and it was obvious from our initial phone call (at 5:45pm on a Friday night!) that Ray was the chap for us!


Having agreed (a very reasonable and competitive) fixed fee, I was extremely impressed with the speed and efficiency that our appeal was dealt with.


Ray has kept us well informed of all developments and provided copies of all documentation sent and received.


‘The proof is very much in the pudding’ and we are now awaiting the result of our appeal. Although we do not have an outcome as yet, I feel that Ray has put us in the best possible position to succeed.


The appeal statement which has been submitted to the Inspectorate could not be more comprehensive and well presented.


We would not hesitate to recommend Ray”.


Matthew Heggie DipPFS, (London). (Planning update March 2016 - Planning Appeal Won!)



“We are happy with the way you have dealt with our case. Your services was very professional. We will not hesitate to recommend you to other people. Thanks again for the good news”.


Mohammed Islam (A.C.I.I),  Premier Insurance Services Ltd, Wembley







“Ashall Town Planning were efficient, professional, pleasant to deal with, always kept me informed and won two planning appeals for me. I am very happy and would recommend them to anyone".


Mr. M Sarkis,  London, (December 2015).



“I highly recommend Ashall Town Planning a first class service was kept informed every step of the way in resolving our appeal regarding our boundary fence. Many thanks Raymond”.


Mrs J King, Waltham Cross, (March 2016).



“Ashall Town Planning were asked to represent Innovare Systems (A Coventry manufacturing company) in 2015/16  to deal with a very challenging planning conflict with the local authority.


Ray provided wise advice based on many years of practical experience and provided a clear and simple strategy for addressing the problem.


The result for Innovare was a very positive one that enables the company managers to focus on running the business without distractions from planning problems.  I doubt that we could have achieved a positive outcome without the help and support from Ray Ashall, so as a result we are grateful for his wise support”.


C. Brewer - Delivery Director - Innovare Systems Ltd








“After a terrible ordeal with My local council over the period of months, which included wrong advice and lost documents, I got in touch with Ashall Town Planning.


Immediately Ray assured me about the situation, provided a clear plan of action and set about resolving my situation.


The problem is now fully resolved thanks to Ray, which is amazing given I was being advised that I would have to knock down part of my extension only a couple of months ago.


My only regret is not going to Ray Ashall earlier. I would have saved myself a whole load of stress and time”.


B. Aldersey



“Thanks for confirming planning approval has been granted for our new extension. I am very happy with the outcome after receiving a number of refusals before you took on the case.


I know it is especially difficult when dealing with planning issues in ‘Green Belt’ areas and now realise the importance of employing the services of someone with proper specialist knowledge.


I could have saved a significant amount of time, cost and frustration had I met you sooner”.


Thanks again, Mike Yates



“Ray really rescued our restaurant project after it was condemned by other so called professionals.


Reasons why we loved Ray:


- Professional- No nonsense straight talking, in a excellent manner


- Honest- Gave us everything we need to know and everything which might not please us


- In depth- Upto date knowledge of planning- knew info even council workers didn't know


- Reliable- over the phone or in person, he will be there.


Thanks again Ray, keep on looking after the people. Have recommended you since and will continue to do so. I hope to use you again and pass by if you are in the area”.


Rana Chowdhury and Mohammed Tariq


Big Fat Gourmet, Lewisham, South London








“I was very pleased with the knowledge and experience Ray brought to our project. He did an outstanding job in securing planning permission for an unlikely application”.


Thanks


Zubair



“Great level of service received from Ray Ashall.


Kept us informed all the way through our planning application, with phone calls (nice human touch) and written communications, he was very knowledgeable and friendly.


Our experience was straight forward and easy, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend his services”.


Paul Campion

General Manager

Fords of Winsford




CLIENT TESTIMONIALS

Client Testimonials - See what our Clients say